2016 Newsletter Season End

NewslettersPosted by Patrick Gerring Fri, March 24, 2017 13:05:29


Newsletter - November 2016

Another season has come to an end. I would like to thank all for their contributions, time and effort.

Senior League:

Our senior team finished 9th. With such a young side, it was going to be a difficult task competing against well established senior sides. Steven Neill had the first ton of the season with 137 against Elgin, Iain Lednor 70, Stephen Anniss 65, and Andy Cresswell 61 the other notable contributions over the season. With the ball, Jason Brandsma 5/21 and Alice Baldwin 6/19 took the lead with match changing bowling. Well done to both of them.

Steven Neill represented NOSCA against the MCC and Iain Lednor represented NOSCA against the Strathmore League, well done to them both.

Many thanks to Iain Macleod for his leadership and organisation of the Senior League.

Reserve League:

The Reserve League where most of our young players took part in, was the big success of the year winning the Reserve League for the first time since 1989.

The team was led by Alex Green who did a tremendous job in leading the team to victory. Alex also got his first ton in the League, with Martin Bronkhorst 60, Iain Lednor 84 and Jason Brandsma 83, the other notable contributions.

Alex also received the NOSCA Young Player of the Year Award. Well done to him. This is the 3rd time in 4 seasons that a Nairn player has received this trophy, showing that the junior section is providing good young cricketers. Thanks to Alex for his leadership and contributions coaching the mini's, and also qualifying as a Level 1 Umpire, well done to him.

Shane Hayward, Iain Macleod, Steven Neill, Matthew Hoggard (Ex England player), Magnus Neill, Calum Forsyth and Alex Green at the NOSCA Dinner.

Community projects:

During the season Drummond Special Needs School in Inverness and Auldearn Primary School received Kwik Cricket equipment from the Club to support their PE Department. They also received 4 weeks of coaching from the Club. Two pupils from Drummond School attended the Nairn Festival for some experience.

Nairn Town support the Chernobyl children each year and our Club also supported them with equipment at the Links.

Chernobyl children enjoying cricket at the Links

Our Club Awards Evening was held on the 22nd October where the following players received Awards:


Most Runs: Steven Neill

Best Average: Steven Neill

Senior Bowling: Steven Neill

Senior Strike Rate: Jason Brandsma


Most Runs: Alex Green

Best Average: Iain Lednor

Reserve Bowling: Steven Neill

Reserve Strike Rate: Iain Macleod


Best Catch: Wicket Keeping:

Brian Stewart Iain Lednor

Most Catches: Most Improved: Fielding

Alex Green Ronin Brandsma

Most Improved: All Round - Shane Hayward

Player of the Year: Alex Green

The Reserve League Winners, sponsored by ARNOLD CLARK

Our Club would like to thank Arnold Clark for their donation of Cricket shirts for the 2016.


Most Improved: Batting - Andrew Suddick

Most Improved: All Round - Alicia Thomson

Improvement: Ross Thomson

Spirit of the Game: Ross Youngman

Best Bowler: Albin Leo

Best Batsman: Kristopher Gunn


Nairn Club hosted the T20 Reserve Finals, and the Senior Cup Final this year. The Cup Final was a big event for the Club, as it's the first time a NOSCA pitch has been used for many a year. My thanks go to Steven and Magnus Neill for the preparations of the grass wicket.

Other Meetings and Courses were also held at the Club making the Club a well supported venue in the North.

My thanks go to our Sponsors, Arnold Clark, Gordon and Ena Baxter Foundation, R & B Landscapes, The Rotary, Mrs Jan Stuart, Cafe Nairn, Highland Council and The Annie Barron Trust, without their support over the season, we would not be one of the best facilities in the North of Scotland.

I would like to wish all our players and supporters a wonderful Festive Season and a wonderful 2017.

Our AGM will be held on the 14th January 2017, the venue is still to be confirmed.

  • Comments(0)

Fill in only if you are not real

The following XHTML tags are allowed: <b>, <br/>, <em>, <i>, <strong>, <u>. CSS styles and Javascript are not permitted.